Peace-filled Prayer

Last night I lay in bed praying. 

Except no words other than the name Jesus kept coming to mind. 

So I simply repeated His name and settled my heart on His character. Much like a toddler who tries to climb her mother in an effort to get as close to her as possible, I sought to draw near to the Lord. 

This year has been one not necessarily marked by peace. Change has marked every aspect of my world, and that change has been only heightened by living in a world currently defined by the coronavirus. 

But last night as I repeated Jesus’ name and sought to draw my heart close to His in surrender, peace washed over me. 

Peace that truly surpassed all understanding. (Philippians 4:7)

I found myself smiling with an ease that could only be divine. No circumstances had shifted. Growing pains from change did not suddenly ease. The virus still roamed the land seemingly untamed. 

However, His wings were my refuge last night (Psalm 91:4), and I drifted off to contented sleep. 

Today I pray you experience that same level of peace.

Search for Him with all of your heart. He promises to be found by you. (Jeremiah 19:13) 

One thought on “Peace-filled Prayer

Leave a comment